Thursday, June 8, 2017

AAC announces regular-season pairings

The American Athletic Conference has announced the 2017-18 men's basketball conference pairings.

With the addition of Wichita State in 2017-18, each team in The American will play seven of its 11 opponents twice, and the other four opponents once each – two at home and two away.

UConn will face UCF, Cincinnati, East Carolina, Memphis, Temple, Tulsa and Wichita State both home and away next season. The Huskies will face USF and SMU at home only, and face Houston and Tulane solely on the road.

Playing only one game against SMU could hurt the Huskies' RPI. Typically, the American ensures the upper-level teams in the league (UConn, SMU, Cincinnati, now Wichita State) play each other twice, in order to help each teams' respective RPIs.

However, UConn's non-conference slate (Oregon and others at the PK80 Invitational, at Arizona, at Auburn, vs. Syracuse at MSG) should mean its RPI remains strong. There's also the chance that SMU isn't as strong this year now that AAC player of the year Semi Ojeleye has opted to turn pro.

The complete 2017-18 men's basketball schedule with dates and times will be announced at a later date.

Houston, Tulane
UCF, Cincinnati, East Carolina, Memphis, Temple, Tulsa, Wichita State


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home