Sunday, March 8, 2015

Field is set for 2015 American Athletic Conference tournament in Hartford

The field is set for the second AAC tournament, which will be played at the XL Center this year. UConn opens up against South Florida on Thursday at about 8:30 p.m. The game will be on ESPNews.

If the Huskies win, they'll face a hot Cincinnati team on Friday at around 9:30 p.m. That game will be on ESPU.

UConn, of course, needs to win the tourney to earn the automatic NCAA tourney bid. If the Huskies win their first two games, they'll play Saturday around 5:30 p.m. in the semifinals, against the winner of Friday's Houston/Tulane vs. Tulsa matchup.

The championship game will be on Sunday on ESPN at 3:15 p.m.

Thursday, March 12 – First Round (ESPNU/ESPNews)
3:30 p.m.               No. 9 UCF (12-17) vs. No. 8 East Carolina (13-18) - ESPNU
6 p.m.                     No. 10 Houston (11-18) vs. No. 7 Tulane (15-15) - ESPNews
8 p.m.                     No. 11 USF (9-22) vs. No. 6 UConn (17-13) - ESPNews

Friday, March 13 – Quarterfinals (ESPN2/ESPNU)
Noon                      UCF/East Carolina winner vs. No. 1 SMU (24-6) – ESPN2
2 p.m.                     No. 5 Memphis (18-13) vs. No. 4 Temple (22-9) – ESPN2
7 p.m.                     Houston/Tulane winner vs. No. 2 Tulsa (21-9) - ESPNU
9 p.m.                     USF/UConn winner vs. No. 3 Cincinnati (22-9) - ESPNU

Saturday, March 14 – Semifinals (ESPN2)
3 p.m.                     Friday afternoon winners
5 p.m.                     Friday evening winners

Sunday, March 15 – Final (ESPN)
3:15 p.m.               Semifinal winners

Meanwhile, here's the schedule for conference award announcements:

Tuesday, March 10

All-Conference, All-Rookie Teams Released 

Ryan Boatright is a given for all-conference, Daniel Hamilton for all-rookie. Hamilton and Amida Brimah could be in line for all-conference honors, too.

Wednesday, March 11

Select Individual Awards Released

The American Athletic Conference Defensive Player of the Year, Most Improved Player, Sixth Man and Sportsmanship Award winner will be released 

Brimah is among the frontrunners for defensive player of the year, though I wouldn't be shocked if he doesn't win.

Thursday, March 12

Awards Luncheon

The American Athletic Conference will present the following individual awards at a reception in the Coliseum Club at the XL Center:

Player of the Year

Rookie of the Year

Coach of the Year

Scholar-Athlete of the Year

Boatright for player of the year? Very deserving, but I think it'll go to Nic Moore of SMU. Hamilton has to win rookie of the year. Coach of the year is likely either Frank Haith of Tulsa or Larry Brown of SMU. I'd go with Haith, but either pick is fine. Fran Dunphy is worthy of consideration, too. For that matter, so is Cincy interim coach Larry Davis.

*** Tickets are available online at, in person at the XL Center box office, or by telephone at 877-522-8499.

Additionally, all games of the tournament will have national radio distribution by IMG College and will be carried on SiriusXM satellite radio (XM 202, Sirius 218 and 92). Westwood One will have additional national coverage of Sunday’s tournament final. The American Digital Network will provide coverage throughout the week, including postgame press conferences and interviews with coaches and players.


Anonymous Anonymous said...

same ol plot. florida southern communtin online 3credit todegree times universal university for all peoples collage put triple clamps on boatwrong so lil gent not seize over tops to make any pass, let alone correct assist, not that it would matter with mates stone fingers and stone touchy.

March 8, 2015 at 7:19 PM 

Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home