Friday, February 24, 2012

Rudy Gay to be Inducted into Huskies of Honor

Rudy Gay will be inducted into the UConn “Huskies of Honor” Saturday prior to the team’s 9 p.m. battle with Syracuse. Gay will be on hand for the festivities.

The "Huskies of Honor" program began during the 2006-07 season and pays tribute in Gampel Pavilion to the top players, coaches and contributors in UConn men's and women's basketball history.

Gay is one of the most decorated players in UConn basketball history. He was a First Team All-American and All-BIG EAST performer in 2005-06, as well as the BIG EAST and National Freshman of the Year in 2004-05. He is currently in his sixth season in the NBA as a member of the Memphis Grizzlies.

As a sophomore in 2005-06, he was named First Team All-American by the NABC and the Rupp Award and one of four finalists for the Naismith National Player of the Year Award. He was named a Second Team All-American by the Associated Press, USBWA and Gay earned All-BIG EAST, All-NABC and All-USBWA All-District First Teams. He was named to the NCAA Washington, D.C. Regional All-Tournament team as the Huskies advanced to the Elite Eight.

As a freshman in 2004-2005, he was named the National Freshman of the Year by The Sporting News, the BIG EAST Rookie of the Year and a unanimous All-Rookie Team selection.

The addition of Gay to the "Huskies of Honor" induction list increases the total number of UConn men's basketball honorees to 21.

They are:

Players (17): Walt Dropo, Vin Yokabaskas, Art Quimby, Toby Kimball, Wes Bialosuknia, Tony Hanson, Corny Thompson, Clifford Robinson, Chris Smith, Donyell Marshall, Ray Allen, Richard Hamilton, Emeka Okafor, Kemba Walker, Worthy Patterson, Bill Corley, Rudy Gay.

Coaches (3): Hugh Greer, Dee Rowe, Jim Calhoun.

Contributors (1): John Toner-Director of Athletics.

Labels: ,


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home